David S. Chia

 

賈大衛 (David S. Chia) 是一位提供全方位服務的律師及專業法律顧問,服務項目包含:商業貿易法,房地產及建築營造法,家庭法,個人傷害,和遺產規劃。賈大衛律師代表的客戶包括個人、合伙企業、公司 (corporations)、和有限責任公司 (LLC)。合作及諮詢的客戶涵蓋各行各業包括﹕零售業 ( 設備供應商、網路公司,和服裝設計師 )、金融機構 ( 理財顧問、貸款公司,和投資銀行 )、房地產 (地產開發商、承包商、建築師、工程師、室內設計師、地產經理,和供應商 )、飯店業 (飯店和旅遊度假村)、飲食業( 餐廳、各類餐飲店,和批發商 )、及醫療保險業 ( 診所和醫生)。

賈大衛律師也代表過非營利組織和政府機關,包括收容所、慈善機構、特許學校和市政府機關,包括帕薩迪納市 (Pasadena)、長堤市 (Long Beach) 和河邊市 (Riverside)。賈大衛律師甚至也代表過其他的律師在許多案件上。

賈大衛律師在一所知名並在法律界評為AV-等級(最優秀等級) 的比佛利山莊 (Beverly Hills) 律師事務所開始了他的法律生涯。他在這成功打贏了許多大公司的訴訟,並代表許多高資產的客戶。之後,他更加入一所 Century City 著名的律師事務所,以精進他的法律事業,此律師樓每年都為Chambers USA 及 Martindale-Hubbell認可的精英洛杉磯律師事務所。

賈大衛律師擔任過知名加州上訴法院主席法官Norman L. Epstein 的司法實習生,並撰寫及編輯多本法律書籍和期刊。

賈大衛律師成功代表過許多數百萬元案子的訴訟,協商談判大資金交易,並幫客戶量身製作數百萬元的遺產規劃。

代表案件

商業貿易案件

  • 代表一位被知名Fortune 500 的律師團隊控告從醫療保險公司盜用超過四千萬美金,同時也被FBI調查的企業家,獲得完全的撤銷告訴。
  • 代表一間有限責任公司強制執行和另外兩位生意人簽屬的合約, 經過兩個月和對方上訴經驗豐富律師的法庭抗辯,法院宣判我們勝訴,判給我們理想的結果。
  • 幫被控告詐騙超過四千萬元保險金的外科醫師做辯護。
  • 為一位被控告詐騙三百萬元證券, 並涉及在歐洲和非洲開設賭場的國際金融家做辯護,在我們的代表下,此金融家獲得完全的撤銷告訴。
  • 代表貸方強制執行對醫療機構承兌票據的權利,但醫療機構卻指控貸方盜用公款超過一千萬美金,在我們的積極代表下,告訴被撤銷,並判給我們想要的結果。
  • 在一個月前臨時取代原律師,幫一位被控告盜用合夥人一百萬,並偽造合夥人簽名的資訊科技專家做辯護,在我們的代表下,法庭駁回整件案子的訴訟。
  • 代表一位被全國性討債公司追債,並在私人談話中被秘密錄音的律師,獲得高額且機密的和解金。
  • 代表兩位即將被收押的專業護理人員獲得完全的撤銷告訴,其中一位被控告殺害病患,而被警方調查;另一位被控告身體虐待看護的病患,而州政府正在調查中。 在我們的代表下,兩件訴訟案都被法庭駁回, 被告護士不用被收押,也不必再接受檢方調查。
  • 在Department of Industrial Relations之前,代表一家涉及拖欠工資糾紛的餐館老闆,在我們的代表下,此糾紛被取消。
  • 幫助成立、發展並提供諮詢給各類公司,包括綠能科技公司、生技基因組合公司、娛樂公司、全國性的大學入學諮詢公司和電子產品行銷公司。
  • 為一家健康飲料公司在全國產品行銷方面的風險管理上,  提供諮詢。

房地產和建築營造案件

  • 為知名地產經紀人做辯護,因此經紀人被控告沒有確切地標示兩間出售的商業地產有問題之處,而導致買主兩百萬元的損失,在我們的代表下,法庭駁回對經紀人的告訴。
  • 代表被兩位房地產經紀人詐騙的知名地產投資人,此兩位地產經紀人的代表律師是著名的明星,麥可·傑克森的代表律師。在我們的代表下,被詐騙的投資人,在一開始就贏了。
  • 代表房地產投資人,強制執行已簽約與知名的不動產開發公司,以保護投資人在合約上的權利。
  • 代表擁有十億資本額且在住宅、辦公大樓、購物商場及工業用地均有投資的不動產開發商強制執行和外州電子公司簽屬的商業租賃合約,以確保此不動產開發商的權利。
  • 代表不動產公司強制執行和知名全國優格連鎖商簽屬的商業租賃合約,因為此優格連鎖商未能履行合約的條款。
  • 代表地主,在土地分割案中,防止土地被拍賣和切割。
  • 代表不動產投資者,購買一塊六十英畝的未開發土地,做未來投資用途。
  • 在價值1.2億元,57層飯店及住宅大廈的豪華建設案中,擔任地產開發商的代表律師。
  • 在價值數百萬元的56層豪華大樓翻新建設案中,代表商業開發公司。
  • 在價值數百萬元的 37層豪華複合式大廈翻新建設案中,擔任商業開發公司的代表律師。
  • 代表飯店業者,翻新其18層高級精品飯店。
  • 在價值數百萬元的溜冰設施建設案中,代表公家機關。
  • 代表公家機關,在數百萬元的的消防局翻新工程案中,擔任代表律師。

人體傷害案件

  • 代表銀行搶劫案中的受害者,獲得高額且機密的賠償,因為這家全國性的銀行在銀行附近發生一連串的搶劫案後,仍然不為顧客安全考量,沒有實行保安防衛措施。
  • 代表被酒駕開車,受到正面撞擊,而重傷的機車騎士,獲得機密且高額的賠償。
  • 代表在主要的十字路口受到正面撞擊,而使車輛全毀且重傷的駕駛和乘客,獲得高額且機密的賠償。
  • 代表商場攻擊案中的受害者,獲得機密且高額的賠償,因為在商場內發生多起攻擊案後,商家仍然不為顧客安全考量,沒有適當地做好安全防衛措施。
  • 代表因車尾追撞而受到重傷的駕駛,獲得高額且機密的賠償。
  • 代表在超級市場內被施暴的受害者,獲得機密且高額的賠償,因為此全國性連鎖超級市場,沒有為顧客考量做好保全措施。

家庭法案件

  • 擔任著名好萊塢製片及導演的離婚訴訟律師,並在他和妻子的離婚案中處理他的資產,包括在全世界發行的喜劇連續劇版稅和其他知名電影的版稅。
  • 在跨國司法審判的離婚案中,代表鑽石礦的女繼承人,處理其子女跨國撫養權和位於南非及美國的國際資產。
  • 在法庭審判的一個月前臨時取代原律師,代表一方配偶, 因另一方要求更高額的財產及贍養費。 在我們的代表下, 法庭完全駁回訴訟,我們代表的配偶不必支付任何財產及贍養費。
  • 在涉及分配國內和國際資產約2500萬元的離婚訴訟案中,代表一方配偶,並準備了一份令雙方滿意的婚姻和解協議。
  • 代表呈請人取得未成年者的保險收益和其他資產的監護權。

信託、遺囑和財產規劃

  • 為知名的香港武打電影製作人,量身製作其價值數百萬美元的遺產規劃。
  • 成立一間管理許多複合式公寓的family limited liability company,以限制家庭成員的賠償責任,避免不必要的遺產稅,並使管理效率化。
  • 為證券基金經理,量身製作其價值數百萬元的遺產規劃。
  • 為身心障礙兒童建立特殊要求信託。

活動

美國工業地產協會(American Industrial Real Estate Association , AIR)專業諮詢集團顧問律師(2010 – 至今)

學歷

加州大學戴維斯分校 (UC Davis School of Law, J.D.) , 法學博士

  • 知名加州上訴法院主席法官Norman L. Epstein 的司法實習生
  • 模擬法庭成員 (Moot Court)
  • 加州大學戴維斯分校 <國際法與公共政策>  期刊編輯

加州大學洛杉磯分校 (UCLA),經濟學和國際研究雙學位

  • 特優異成績
  • Phi Beta Kappa 榮譽獎
  • 榮譽學生
  • 金鑰匙榮譽獎
  • 全國大專生榮譽獎
  • Alpha Lambda Delta榮譽獎
  • ŸPhi Eta Sigma榮譽獎

出版書籍

  • 建築法摘要 (Construction Law Digests), 判例法撰稿者
  • 建築法簡介 (Construction Law Manual), 判例法撰稿者
  • 建築法註解 (Construction Law Annotated),編輯
  • 無執照的承包商名單 (Listing Unlicensed Subcontractors),Insight 雜誌,第25期
  • 替換承包商的新規定 (New Rules for Substitution of Subcontractors),Insight 雜誌,第24期

David S. Chia

 

David S. Chia is an Attorney and Counselor at Law who represents a diverse range of clients in business and commercial law, real estate and construction law, family law, personal injury law, and estate planning.  Mr. Chia has represented individuals, partnerships, corporations, and limited liability companies. He has counseled clients in a number of industries, including retail (equipment suppliers, online stores, and fashion designers), finance (financial consultants, lenders, and investment firms), real property (developers, contractors, architects, engineers, interior designers, property managers, and suppliers), hospitality (hotels and resorts), food (restaurants, eateries, and distributors), and healthcare (clinics and physicians).

Mr. Chia has also represented non-profit foundations and government entities. Examples include shelters, charities, chartered schools, and municipalities, such as the cities of Pasadena, Long Beach, and Riverside. Mr. Chia has represented other attorneys on numerous matters as well.

Mr. Chia’s extensive practice began at the outset of his legal career when he represented high net worth individuals and large companies at leading AV-rated law firms in Beverly Hills and Century City consistently recognized by Chambers USA and Martindale-Hubbell as elite Los Angeles law firms.

Mr. Chia was a judicial extern to the Honorable Norman L. Epstein, Presiding Justice of the California Court of Appeal and has served as editor and contributor to various legal practice guides and journals.

Mr. Chia has litigated multimillion dollar actions, negotiated multimillion dollar transactions, and structured multimillion dollar estate plans.

REPRESENTATIVE MATTERS

Business and Commercial Matters

  • Obtained the complete dismissal of an action on behalf of an entrepreneur, who was accused of embezzling over $40 million from a healthcare organization, was under investigation by the FBI, and was sued by a team of leading Fortune 500 trial attorneys.
  • Enforced a limited liability company’s contract rights against two businessmen represented by veteran appellate counsel and, following a two-month trial, obtained relief in favor of the limited liability company.
  • Defended a surgeon accused of committing over $40 million in insurance fraud.
  • Defended an international financier, who was accused of committing $3 million in securities fraud concerning the formation of casinos in Europe and Africa, and obtained the financier’s complete dismissal from the action.
  • Enforced a lender’s rights to collect on promissory notes against a medical facility that accused the lender of misappropriating over $10 million.
  • Substituted in as new counsel one month before trial in defense of an information technology specialist, who was accused of misappropriating $1 million from a partner and forging that partner’s signature, and obtained a complete dismissal of the entire action.
  • Represented an attorney, who was secretly recorded in a private conversation, against a national collection agency and obtained a high, confidential settlement.
  • Obtained complete dismissals of all investigations and disciplinary actions on behalf of two nursing professionals, one of whom was accused of a patient’s homicide and subject to police investigation and the other of whom was accused of physically abusing a patient and subject to state investigation.
  • Represented a restaurant owner in a dispute for unpaid wages before the Department of Industrial Relations and obtained a summary dismissal of the matter.
  • Formed, developed, and counseled a variety of companies, including a green technology corporation, a genome sequencing company, an entertainment company, a national college admissions consulting company, and an electronics distribution company.
  • Counseled a health drink company on risk management with respect to national product distribution.

Real Estate and Construction Matters

  • Obtained immediate relief at the outset of litigation on behalf of a prominent real estate investor against two real estate professionals, both of whom were represented by preeminent celebrity counsel for the late recording artist, Michael Jackson, for defrauding the investor into purchasing real property.
  • Defended a prominent real estate agent, who was accused of causing $2 million in damages for failing to adequately disclose defects in title with regard to the sale of two commercial properties, and obtained the agent’s complete dismissal from the action.
  • Enforced a real estate investor’s contractual rights against a real estate development company renowned for its outdoor “city-center” retail plaza developments.
  • Enforced a commercial lease on behalf of a real estate developer operating $1 billion in residential, office, retail, and industrial properties against an out-of-state electronics distributor.
  • Enforced a commercial lease on behalf of a real estate group against a national frozen yogurt franchise for failing to satisfy contract obligations.
  • Represented landowners in a real property partition action and prevented the sale and partition of land.
  • Represented a real estate investor in the sale of 60 acres of undeveloped land for development.
  • Represented a real estate developer in the construction of a lavish $120 million, 57-story, mixed-use condominium-hotel tower.
  • Represented a commercial developer in the multimillion dollar renovation of a luxury, 56-story condominium tower.
  • Represented a commercial developer in the multimillion dollar renovation of a lavish, 37-floor, mixed-use apartment complex.
  • Represented hotelier in the renovation of an upscale, 18-story boutique hotel.
  • Represented a public entity in the multimillion dollar construction of an ice skating facility.
  • Represented a public entity in the multimillion dollar renovation of a fire station.

Personal Injury Matters

  • Represented a victim of a robbery against a national bank for failing to install security for its customers after a string of widely reported robberies occurred in the bank’s vicinity and obtained a high, confidential settlement.
  • Represented a motorcyclist, who was severely injured in a head-on collision with a drunk motorist, and obtained a high, confidential settlement.
  • Represented a driver and passenger who were severely injured in a head-on collision at a major intersection that rendered his vehicle a total loss and obtained a high, confidential settlement.
  • Represented a victim of a brutal attack against a shopping mall landlord for failing to adequately protect customers after several reported attacks occurred on the shopping mall’s premises and obtained a high, confidential settlement.
  • Represented a driver who was severely injured in a rear-end collision and obtained a high, confidential settlement.
  • Represented an assault victim against a national supermarket chain for filing to implement security measures for its customers and obtained a high, confidential settlement.

Family Law Matters

  • Represented a celebrated Hollywood producer and director, whose assets included royalties from a long-running, internationally-syndicated sitcom and royalties from acclaimed feature films, in his divorce from his wife.
  • Represented a diamond mine heiress in a cross-jurisdictional divorce involving international child abduction and international assets located in South Africa and the United States.
  • Represented a spouse, after substituting in as new counsel one month before trial in an action seeking additional property and spousal support, and obtained a complete dismissal of the entire action, with no award of any property or support.
  • Represented a spouse in a divorce proceeding involving the distribution of domestic and international assets valued at approximately $25 million and prepared a favorable marital settlement agreement.
  • Represented a petitioner for guardianship of a minor’s estate containing insurance proceeds and other assets.

Trust, Wills, and Estates

  • Crafted a multimillion dollar estate plan for a legendary Hong Kong producer of martial arts films.
  • Organized a family limited liability company that managed various apartment complexes to limit a family members’ liability, avoid unnecessary estate taxation, and streamline administration.
  • Formed a multimillion dollar estate plan for a securities funds manager.
  • Created a special needs trust for the care of a developmentally disabled child.

ACTIVITIES

American Industrial Real Estate Association (AIR) Professional Advisory Group Attorney Advisor (2010 – Present)

EDUCATION

UC Davis School of Law, J.D.

  • Judicial Extern to the Honorable Norman L. Epstein, Presiding Justice of the California Court of Appeal
  • Moot Court
  • UC Davis Journal of International Law & Public Policy, Editor

UCLA, B.A. in Economics with an additional concentration in International Studies

  • Magna Cum Laude
  • Phi Beta Kappa
  • Honors Programs
  • Golden Key Honors
  • National Society of Collegiate Scholars Honors
  • Alpha Lambda Delta Honors
  • Phi Eta Sigma Honors

PUBLICATIONS

  • Construction Law Digests, Case Law Contributor
  • Construction Law Manual, Case Law Contributor
  • Construction Laws Annotated, Editor
  • “Listing Unlicensed Subcontractors,” Insight, Volume XXV
  • “New Rules for Substitution of Subcontractors,” Insight, Volume XXIV